The Kenwood kMix

the kmix-0019

Back in April when I went back to work I promised myself that all the effort of going back must surely require a treat. That’s logical right? Earn money to buy nice things 😉

I wasn’t totally serious, but Tom was. Last weekend Tom bought me the Kenwood KMix.

Now then… that is the treat of my dreams! I practically skipped into John Lewis to pick it up last Saturday.

Before I delight you with all the goodies I’ve been making this week I want to tell you why I picked the KMix, especially when it’s so easy to be swayed by the beautiful colours of the Kitchen Aid.

The Kitchen Aid was the first ever stand mixer I saw. It was on the Great British Bake Off and I thought it was beautiful. I loved the retro look, I loved the colours and if it was on the GBBO it must be good right?

So off I went to do my research, I’ve been dropping in and out of various forums for years, and kept hearing slight niggly, bad comments about the kitchen aid. Like the fact it has plastic gears which can snap quite easily when straining with a heavy load. Or that it doesn’t have a slow start mode so can send ingredients flying all over the kitchen, and that it only had a 300w motor…

So I went looking for an alternative. My mother in law swears by Kenwood. She’s had hers forever and never had a problem with it. When I started researching Kenwood and spotted the kMix I really liked it. It looked sturdy and it stood up to the high expectations I was looking for. It had a 500w motor, it had all metal gears, according to the reviews it didn’t walk across the surface when kneading bread, it has a slow start mode, a folding mode and it looks pretty! It comes with a dough hook, a ballon whisk, a K-Beater, a steel bowl and a splash guard. Plus there’s the option to buy loads of fun attachments, like a pasta roller – yes please!

So we plunged in and bought one.

I have to admit I was a little nervous. It’s a lot of money, but a week in and I’m already falling more in love with it every day. Plus it’s beautiful isn’t it!!

Now let’s see if it stands the test of time.

the kmix-0009, kmix, kenwood, kenwood chef the kmix-0080, review, kmix, baking the kmix-0102, kenwood chef, kmix baking bread the kmix-0114, kenwood chef, kmix, cooking, the kmix-0003 the kmix-9998, k beater, kmix balloon whisk the kmix-0116 the kmix-0015

Leave a Reply

